Youth Parliament of Pakistan 2008-09


News and Events

Calendar of Events

 Meet the Members


 Office Bearers


 Guest Speakers

Picture Gallery

Session Summary

Party Manifestoes


 UK Study Visit

 Alumni Association

Orders of the Day

 Official Reports

 View Latest Batch

  News and Events  

Youth Parliament Pakistan concludes Study Visit to the UK by visiting the Constituency of Mr. Malcom Wicks, MP in Croydon


London, July 11; The Youth Parliament Pakistan delegation completed its Study Visit to UK in London on Friday by visiting the constituency of Mr. Malcolm Wicks, MP in Croydon.

The delegation, that was received in the Croydon Town Hall by Mr. Wicks, discussed in detail the constituency relations of the MP and the demarcation of roles between the local government and the MP at the constituency level. The delegates asked questions about the role as well as involvement of the MP in the constituency. The delegation also met with Mayor Councillor Avril Slipper and Mayor’s Consort Mr. Harry Slipper. The Youth Parliament Pakistan delegation introduced the Youth Parliament Pakistan and its aims and objectives.

The Youth Parliament Pakistan delegation to the UK included Mr. Lehrasip Hayat, YP23-PUNJAB05; Youth Leader of the Opposition; Syed Manzoor Shah, YP04-BALOCHISTAN03; Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and Defence; Ms. Anam Javed Cheema, YP29-PUNJAB11; Chairperson Youth Parliament Standing Committee on Information; Ms. Zil-e-Huma, YP31-PUNJAB13; General Secretary, Youth Parliament Green Party; Ms. Madeeha Shahid Rana YP34-PUNJAB16; Former Minister for Culture, Sports and Youth Affairs; Mr. Bilal Nasir, YP44-SINDH07; Youth Shadow Minister for Information and Mr. Imtiaz Ali, YP46-SINDH09; Chief Whip, Youth Parliament Green Party.

The study visit to UK by a delegation of the Youth Parliament Pakistan has been supported by the British High Commission Islamabad through the support of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, UK, so as to provide an opportunity to the Youth Parliament delegation to understand the British political and Parliamentary system and engage in a meaningful dialogue with British youth counterparts on issues of mutual concern. 

The Youth Parliament Pakistan ( is a PILDAT ( project that provides a platform for Pakistani Youth. It is patterned after the National Assembly of Pakistan with 48 members from all over the country. The Youth Parliament membership is selected from across the country for a one-year term. Establishment and facilitation of the Youth Parliament is part of PILDAT's focus on Youth in the country and Youth's awareness education and training in the norms of politics and democracy in the country. PILDAT strongly feels that sustainable democracy and the sustainability of sound democratic institutions in Pakistan is not possible without youth's involvement in the democratic and political process even if this involvement is simply as a citizen or voter.

The Youth Parliament Pakistan has its own 2-Party system, the Leader of the House and the Leader of the Opposition, a Youth Cabinet, a Shadow Cabinet and Parliamentary Committees. Senator S. M. Zafar, Chairman Senate Standing Committee on Education, serves as a chairman of the Youth Parliament Steering Committee while Mr. Faisal Karim Kundi, MNA, Deputy Speaker National Assembly is the Patron of Youth Parliament. Other notable members of the Steering Committee include Mr. Wazir Ahmad Jogezai, former Deputy Speaker; Dr. Donya Aziz, MNA; Mr. Khurram Dastgir Khan, MNA and Ms. Anusha Rahman Khan, MNA.

The Youth Parliament Pakistan consists of 48 young men and women who represent the four provinces, FATA, Gilgit-Baltistan, Azad Jammu and Kashmir and Islamabad Capital Territory in proportion to the population of these units. The first-ever batch of Youth Parliament Pakistan completed its first term successfully in 2007-2008 while the second batch completed its term in 2008-2009. The third batch of Youth Parliament Pakistan is currently undergoing its 1 year term.


Discussions of the Youth Parliament Pakistan delegation with Rt. Hon. Malcolm Wicks, MP



Members of the Youth Parliament Pakistan presenting a Memento to Rt. Hon. Malcolm Wick, MP



Members of the Youth Parliament Pakistan presenting a Memento to Mayor Councillor Avril Slipper

Youth Parliament of Pakistan 2008-09

Home  Steering Committee   Party Advisors  |  Visitors Gallery  |  Useful Links  Contact Us


© 2007 - 2014 Youth Parliament Pakistan