Youth Parliament of Pakistan 2008-09


News and Events

Calendar of Events

 Meet the Members


 Office Bearers


 Guest Speakers

Picture Gallery

Session Summary

Party Manifestoes


 UK Study Visit

 Alumni Association

Orders of the Day

 Official Reports

 View Latest Batch

  News and Events  

Second Session of the Youth Parliament Pakistan begins: Balochistan Crisis and Revisiting Pakistanís Policy on Terrorism key Issues of Discussion

Islamabad, February 03, 2010; The second session of Youth Parliament Pakistan began here today. The session, that will continue for 5 days till February 07, 2010, will discuss issues including the Balochistan Crisis, and Revisiting Pakistanís Policy on Terrorism.

The discussion on the Balochistan Crisis will begin by a Panel Discussion on Thursday, February 04, 2010 and will include Senator Dr. Abdul Malik Baloch, (Balochistan NP), Senator Muhammad Khan Sherani, (Balochistan JUI-F) and Mr. Wazir Ahmed Jogezai, Former Deputy Speaker National Assembly of Pakistan.

Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Secretary General PML and former Chairman Senate Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs will share his perspectives on Revisiting Pakistanís Policy on Terrorism on Friday, February 05, 2010 while Mr. Owais Ghani, Governor NWFP will share his perspective on the issue with the Youth Parliament Pakistan on February 06, 2010.

The first day of the second session of the Youth Parliament Pakistan 2009-2010 began with a Calling Attention Notice on the need for effective implementation of Child Labour Laws in the country with reference to the recent death of Shazia Masih in Lahore. The notice, moved by Ms. Ayesha Bilal Bhatti (YP 27-PUNJAB-09) and Ms. Noor Bakht Ghumman (YP28-PUNJAB10), was referred by Rana Amaar Farooq (YP08-ICT01), Youth Prime Minister, to the Youth Parliament Standing Committee on Human Right and Law. Earlier, members such as Agha Shakeel (YP47-SINDH10) of the Green party drew the attention of the House towards the low penalty that has to be paid by the offender according to the Juvenile Justice system. Syed Arsalan Ahmed (YP42-Sindh05) suggested that the relevant committee should work on policy reform and incentives for child care and family support to decrease child labour.

Discussing the issue of land reforms on a resolution moved by Mr. Imtiaz Ali Khuro (YP46-SINDH09) the House discussed various suggestions to abolish feudal system. Ms. Gul Andaam Orakzai (YP10-ICT03) spoke in favour of introducing extensive land reforms, drawing attention of the House towards the need of creating awareness and education. Ms. Rabab Zehra (YP41-SINDH04) suggested bringing institutional changes and empowering the voters in this regard. The resolution, which was largely supported, was referred to the Standing Committee on Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Human Rights for developing specific proposals.

The Youth Parliament Pakistan (YPP) is a platform of Pakistani Youth patterned after the National Assembly of Pakistan with 48 members from all over the country. Conceived, created and facilitated by PILDAT, the Youth Parliament Pakistan also has an independent Steering Committee while Honourable Mr. Faisal Karim Kundi, MNA; Deputy Speaker National Assembly of Pakistan serves as the Patron of Youth Parliament Pakistan. Senator S. M. Zafar; Mr. Wazir Ahmed Jogezai, Former Deputy Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan; Dr. Donya Aziz, MNA, Engr. Khuram Dastgir Khan, MNA; Ms. Anusha Rahman Khan, MNA and Mr. Kabir Sabar, Member; RBS Global Banking and Markets; Young British Politician and Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, Executive Director PILDAT serve as members of the Youth Parliament Steering Committee.

Youth Parliament of Pakistan 2008-09

Home  Steering Committee   Party Advisors  |  Visitors Gallery  |  Useful Links  Contact Us


© 2007 - 2014 Youth Parliament Pakistan